Breakout players for 20-21

I usually try to avoid the very clear and popular break out candidates, as they tend to get overdrafted either way. Here’s my list for 2020-2021. Please check back in for updated lists and new suggestions throughout the season.

Atlanta Hawks – Cam Reddish – Even though the roster is incredibly deep in Atlanta, I loved what Cam showed during the second half of the season. He’s got all the tools and huge upside. I believe Bogdanović would thrive in a 6th man role, freeing up minutes for Reddish.

Charlotte Hornets – Gordon Hayward – Okay, okay, I’m cheating here, but Hayward will get all the opportunities to shine in Charlotte. You might be able to nab him at a nice price in your drafts.

Chicago Bulls – Coby White, Wendell Carter jr. – New coach, more motivated players. Coby White obviously broke out last season and should continue to see improved touches this year. WCjr was used completely wrong by his coach last season, and I have high hopes for him this year. Word is, Lauri and WCjr don’t get along, though. 

Cleveland Cavaliers – Dylan Windler – I think KPjr might need a bit more time, as he obviously is far from mature, so my pick here is probably a real sleeper in Dylan Windler. I think he has a chance to carve out a really nice role on this squad, which will be looking for shooting. He can play both forward positions and is a decent athlete, rebounder and secondary playmaker as well. 

Denver Nuggets – Jamal Murray – I know, MPjr. But I still don’t think Malone likes his defense much, and the Nuggets just brought back Millsap, signed JaMychael Green and will be getting back Will Barton as well. Bol Bol will get some spot minutes here and there, so I just don’t think we’ll see a full blown break out from MPjr this season. On the other hand, we’ve seen Murray take another step in the playoffs last season, and I think he’ll continue to grow into a leader for this team.  

Detroit Pistons – Svi Mykhailiuk, Delon Wright – Delon will like playing for his old coach. Not sure about the guard rotation here, with Hayes and Rose. Svi, on the other hand, played really well when he got extended minutes last season, and I figure he’ll continue to see ample playing time this year. I also like Doumbouya’s upside, but he is really raw.

Houston Rockets – Christian Wood – Probably one of the more popular sleeper picks, in a way where he’s bound to get overdrafted in some leagues. Still, someone to keep an eye on. Also very curious to see what system the Rockets will play and if they’re truly going to blow it all up. 

Memphis Grizzlies – Deandre Melton, Brandon Clark – Nice new contract for Melton who present a lot of upside. Want to see him play next to Morant way more. I think he has a chance vs Brooks and that annoying Duke kid. Clark’s upside is somewhat capped, but he should become a very valuable fantasy player soon. Especially with JJJ still missing time. 

Minnesota Timberwolves – Jarred Vanderbilt – I went deep for this one. I don’t thin the Juancho/KAT front court will work well, due to their defense. I also am a firm believer in Vanderbilt’s upside – he has shown some flashes which reminded me of Lamar Odom. I think this could be a really interesting sleeper. I’ve grabbed him in a dynasty league. 

New York Knicks – Mitchell Robinson – For anyone worried about Noel: don’t. Noel is too thin to properly defend most big men, and Mitchell should be loved by Thibs. Still, the Knicks could be the Knicks and screw this one up.

Oklahoma City Thunder – Darius Bazley, Shai Gilgeous Alexander – The tank commanders for the Thunder. Obviously, they will also have George Hill (for now), but SGA will get every chance to succeed (or fail). His upside is huge and he’ll have the ball in his hands most of the time. Bazley has been my guy for ages, and I think he will be amazing this year. He really can do it all. My favorite breakout player this year, but also is far from a finished product.

Orlando Magic – Markelle Fultz – He’s been improving slowly. Wouldn’t be my pick, but if there’s any guy on this roster who will break out, it should be him. 

Philadelphia 76ers – Matisse Thybulle – I also like Seth Curry’s fit here, but Thybulle’s game is just too perfect for fantasy. Now he also has Danny Green teaching him some of his old tricks. 

Phoenix Suns – Mikal Bridges, Deandre Ayton – Mikal Bridges is one of my other favorite breakout players. Already really good last season, he’s capable of being a league leader in steals. CP should love playing with Bridges on the wing. Crowder is a pure PF nowadays, and the Suns also shipped out Oubre. Bridges will make a huge step this season. I’ve listed Ayton because CP should be able to get him some additional easy looks. 

Portland Trail Blazers – Gary Trent jr. – I don’t think his minutes will take a huge jump (still around 20 minutes), but the way he played in the bubble was amazing. Portland’s roster is now just too deep to make a big step forward.  

Sacramento Kings – Tyrese Haliburton – Rookies can’t really break out, can they? Still I would like to mention Haliburton here. He could be such a terrific fit next to Fox. Hield hasn’t been happy with the Kings, and by now that’s probably true for the other way around as well. I think Haliburton could be a budget version of his cousin, Eddie Jones (who had one of the most underrated rookie seasons ever – fantasy wise).

San Antonio Spurs – Keldon Johnson – I love Keldon Johnson’s game. He’ll get more opportunities this season, with Forbes out of town and Mills’ aging. I think Walker is already behind Keldon when it comes to role and development, and it wouldn’t surprise me to see Keldon slowly become the leader of this team.

Toronto Raptors – Aron Baynes – Already broke out last season, but was then reigning in by the Suns again, before showing up in a string of games again lateer in the season. Weird season. However, he’s now moved to Toronto (or actually, Tampa, Florida)where he’ll have no trouble at all grabbing the starting C role. Boucher isn’t a threat as he’s skinny as hell, don’t be fooled by limited per 36 stats.

Washington Wizards – Isaac Bonga – The Wizards somehow created a logjam on the wings as well, by drafting Troy Brown jr, Rui and now Deni. They also brought back Bertans. I actually think Brown jr and Avdija will come off the bench, together with Rui. I also believe Bongo has more upside than Brown jr, Avdija and especially Rui. His bball IQ is off the charts, and I can see him start next to Wall, Beal, Bertans and Bryant. I really like his upside.

Leave a comment